It’s a miracle…

Our little miss Norah has opened my eyes to many things but I think one of the things that has had the most impact on me is just what a miracle life is.   Birthdays…each one is a miracle, a total work of God!  The fact that you are right where you are, doing what you are doing…a complete miracle!

I like to think that I appreciate life, but Norah has helped me appreciate it all the more…not just my life, but all those around me.  Do you realize all that had to come together and happen perfectly for you to be born?  Do you get that?  I mean, there is biology, yes.  But do you understand all God did so you could be born…and then all that needed to happen so that you could reach your birthday each year?  Honestly, I don’t think any of us can totally comprehend this.

Jonathan and I have been trying for quite a while to have a family, and the longer our struggle is to add to our family, the more I am reminded of just how little control we have over life.  In the past I have said, “we are going to try to have a baby.”  And I think about that and translate that and think, “really??  really you think that YOU are going to try and create life?  YOU have the power to create a family??  YOU??  NO YOU DONT!!”  We want to schedule when would be a great time to have a baby.  We  think that our christmas card would be perfect if we have those sweet little faces added.  Am I the only one who has thought these things??

Life is a miracle.  God begins it…I am still in complete awe of how God spontaneously starts a heart.  The brain isn’t even really there yet, and the heart just starts beating out of nowhere! A miracle!  And all the weaving together has to go perfectly to create each little organ and the complexities of that little brain! A miracle!

Our Norah was such a miracle!  She was created from nothing and I held her and she was something!   Someone!  God made her because she was supposed to be made.  God made her because she was supposed to be present here on this earth.  God made her because she had an earthly assignment.

We just celebrated my husband’s birthday this past Saturday and I was awestruck by the miracle of life again.  He has been on this earth, on purpose, for 31 years.  God has let him see 31 birthdays!  Why?  Because he is supposed to be present here.  God made him just like he made Norah because he has an earthy assignment.  God could take him away at any moment, but He hasn’t.  His life is still as much of a miracle now as it was 31 years ago when he was born.

Friends, you are a miracle!  You are here because God put you here for a reason! IMG_9016 And these little footprints…those are my Norah’s…she was here for a reason too!
She was here because here is where God wanted her to be!  Yes she wasn’t here as long as I wanted her to be, but she was here, she completed her earthly assignment, and now she gets to spend eternity with Jesus.  What a fantastic reward for a job well done!

You formed my inward parts; You wove me in my mother’s womb.  I give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, and my soul knows it very well.  My frame was not hidden from You, When I was made in secret, And skillfully wright in the depths of the earth; Your eyes have seen my unformed substance; And in your book were all written the days that were ordained for me, when as yet there was not one of them. – Psalm 139:13-16

 

 

 

One thought on “It’s a miracle…

Leave a Reply

