Haste Makes Waste

IMG_3651

It is in these moments….these still moments. I let myself sit…rest…coffee in hand and the perfect worship playing on iTunes Radio. These moments are God given…this afternoon, I sit after a long long week of work and a long morning of cleaning. I sit and enjoy THIS! This moment…a gift!

It is crazy to me…I don’t know if crazy is the right word for it..can we call God’s movement or God’s working crazy? I just looked it up…and I decided that there has got to be a better word. I’m just going to call it what it is…a blessing…

IMG_3650It is a blessing to me that God gives us what we need right when we need it…sometime He makes it so obvious that we can’t miss it. I think in this day and age, in America, we need to be smacked over the head by God….in a way that we really can’t explain away.

Well this week, there has been a theme to my short moments of peace. I have gotten the opportunity to read in Ann Voskamp’s “One Thousand Gifts: Devotional” and every single day… In the midst of my week chaos, I read about peace, being still, finding God’s grace in ordinary, slowing the hurry of life….and giving God more of the time…the time that ironically was made by Him in the first place.

Calm. Haste makes waste. Life is not an emergency. Life is brief and it is fleeting, but it is not an emergency. – Ann Voskamp

I also love how she relates life to dessert! I am one who savers dessert. Even small pieces of chocolate, I take small bites of and make it last as long as possible. Why is it so hard for us to experience life like I experience dessert. And then she says this…

Time is not running out. This day is not a sieve, losing time. With each passing minute, each passing year, there’s this deepening awareness that I am filling, gaining time. We stand on the brink of eternity. – Ann Voskamp

Hmmm, this being still…this living life like it is sweet chocolate…this seeing God’s grace everywhere…this creating white space…ok God, I think I am starting to get the hint!

Leave a Reply

